Resources by State

Here you can find experts listed by state, along with their university or organization, phone number, email address, areas of expertise, and any websites affiliated with their work.

Illinois

Mary Hosier
University of Illinois
217-333-7512
mhosier@illinois.edu
FSMA

Zach Grant
University of Illinois
708-679-6889
zgrant2@illinois.edu
GAPs
http://web.extension.illinois.edu/smallfarm/foodsafety.html

Laurie George
University of Illinois
618-548-1446
ljgeorge@illinois.edu
GAPs

James Theuri
University of Illinois
815-933-8337
jtheu50@illinois.edu
GAPs
http://web.extension.illinois.edu/smallfarm/foodsafety.html

Matt Turino
Sustainable Student Farm at UIUC
turino@illinois.edu

 

Indiana

https://ag.purdue.edu/hla/foodsafety/Pages/default.aspx
https://extension.purdue.edu/safeproducein/Pages/default.aspx

Amanda Deering
Purdue University
765-494-0512
adeering@purdue.edu
SMA Produce Rule, GAPs, Other, Food Safety in the Packinghouse

Haley Oliver
Purdue University
765-496-3913
hfoliver@purdue.edu
GAPs, Other, Food Safety in the Packinghouse

Dharmendra Mishra
Purdue University
765-494-2594
mishradh@purdue.edu
FSMA Preventative Control Rule

Scott Monroe
Purdue University
812-886-0198
jsmonroe@purdue.edu
FSMA Produce Rule, GAPs, Other, Food Safety in the Packinghouse

Yaohua Feng
Purdue University
765-494-0331
yhfeng@purdue.edu
PCQI for Human Foods, FSVP, HACCP, Training Evaluation

Iowa

http://safeproduce.cals.iastate.edu/fda-produce-safety-rule

Joe Hannan
Iowa State University
515-993-4281
jmhannan@iastate.edu
Fruit and vegetable production
http://www.extension.iastate.edu/author/joe-hannan

Angela Shaw
Iowa State University
515-294-0868
angelaml@iastate.edu
HACCP, GAPs, Train-the-Trainer
http://www.fshn.hs.iastate.edu/angela-shaw-food-safety/

Dan Fillius
Iowa State University
515-294-4249
fillius@iastate.edu
Produce Safety Extension Educator

Linda Naeve
Iowa State University
515-294-8946
lnaeve@iastate.edu
Food Safety, Value Added Agriculture
http://www.extension.iastate.edu/author/linda-naeve

Strohbehn, Catherine
Iowa State University
515-294-3527
cstrohbe@iastate.edu
Food Safety
http://www.extension.iastate.edu/author/catherine-strohbehn

 

Kansas

http://www.ksre.k-state.edu/foodsafety/produce/index.html

Londa Nwadike
Kansas State University
913-307-7391
lnwadike@ksu.edu
GAPs, Other, farmers market food safety, other general food safety
http://www.ksre.k-state.edu/foodsafety/produce/index.html

Fadi Aramouni
Kansas State University
785-532-1668
aramouni@ksu.edu
FSMA Preventive Control Rule

Elizabeth Boyle
Kansas State University
785-532-1247
lboyle@ksu.edu
FSMA Preventive Control Rule

Marlin Bates
Kansas State University
785-843-7058
batesm@ksu.edu
GAPs

Kathy Flora
Pittsbury Farmers Market and area producers
785-564-6759
floraproduce@gmail.com
 

 

Michigan

http://msue.anr.msu.edu/topic/info/food_health

Phil Tocco
Michigan State University
517-788-4292
tocco@msu.edu
FSMA Produce Rule,GAPs

Les Bourquin
Michigan State University
517-353-3329
bourqui1@msu.edu
FSMA Preventive Control Rule,Other, HACCPs

Amy Irish-Brown
Michigan State University
616-632-7891
irisha@anr.msu.edu
FSMA Produce Rule

Joanne Davidhizar
Michigan State University
269-927-5674
davidhiz@anr.msu.edu
FSMA Produce Rule

Tim Slawinski
Michigan Department of Agriculture & Rural Development 
517-420-5364
SlawinskiT@michigan.gov
FSMA Produce Rule

Mariel Borgman
Michigan Department of Agriculture & Rural Development 
269-548-3315
mborgm@anr.msu.edu
FSMA Produce Rule,GAPs

Vivien McCurdy
Kalamazoo Valley Community College
269-353-1250
wmccurdy@kvcc.edu
FSMA Preventive Control Rule

Phil Britton
Cherry Capitol Foods
906-869-6131
phil.britton@cherrycapitalfoods.com
GAPs, Other, Group GAP

Josh Felsk
felskj@michigan.gov
FSMA Produce Rule

Jeannine Schweihofer
Michigan Department of Agriculture & Rural Development 
810-989-6935
grobbelj@anr.msu.edu
Other, HACCP

 

 

Minnesota

Michele Schermann
University of Minnesota
612-624-7444
scher019@umn.edu
GAPs, Other, Food safety plan writing, Preparing for audits,

Annalisa Hultberg
University of Minnesota
612-625-1951
hultb006@umn.edu
GAPs, Other, Writing Food Safety Plans, Preparing for Audits
https://extension.umn.edu/commercial-fruit-and-vegetable-growers

Laura Hedeen
Minnesota Food Association
laura@mnfoodassociation.org

Michael Schoenecker
University of Minnesota
620-431-4616
Michaelschoenecker@icloud.com
FSMA Produce Rule,FSMA Preventive Control Rule

 

Missouri

http://extension.missouri.edu/main/DisplayCategory.aspx?C=195

Patrick Byers
University of Missouri
417-881-8909
byerspl@missouri.edu
GAPs

Londa Nwadike
University of Missouri and Kansas State University Extension
913-307-7391
lnwadike@ksu.edu
GAPs, Other, farmers market food safety, other general food safety
http://missourifamilies.org/foodsafety/newsletters/

Touria Eaton
Lincoln University of Missouri
(573) 681-5174
EatonT@LincolnU.edu
Horticulture, GAPs
http://missourifamilies.org/foodsafety/newsletters/

Nebraska

http://extension.unl.edu/croppingwater/

Sarah Browning
University of Nebraska-Lincoln
402-441-7180
sarah.browning@unl.edu
FSMA Produce Rule, GAPs

Jayne Stratton
University of Nebraska-Lincoln
402-472-2829
jstratton1@unl.edu
FSMA Preventive Control Rule,Other

John Rupnow
University of Nebraska-Lincoln
402-540-9361
jrupnow1@unl.edu
FSMA Preventive Control Rule

Andreia Bianchini
University of Nebraska-Lincoln
402-472-3114
abianchini2@unl.edu
FSMA Preventive Control Rule

Bing Wang
University of Nebraska-Lincoln
402-472-2517
bing.wang@unl.edu
FSMA Preventive Control Rule

David Lott
University of Nebraska-Lincoln
308-696-6781
dlott2@unl.edu
FSMA Produce Rule

Connie Fisk
University of Nebraska-Lincoln
402-267-2205
connie.fisk@unl.edu
FSMA Produce Rule,GAPs

Kelly Jackson
Daniels Produce
402-897-4253
kelly@danielsproduce.com
FSMA Produce Rule, FSMA Preventive Control Rule

 

North Dakota

https://www.ag.ndsu.edu/fieldtofork

Julie Garden-Robinson
North Dakota State University
701-231-7187
julie.garden-robinson@ndsu.edu
FSMA Produce Rule, GAPs

David Saxowsky
North Dakota State University
701-231-7470
david.saxowsky@ndsu.edu
FSMA Produce Rule, GAPs

Robert Maddock
North Dakota State University
701-231-8975
robert.maddock@ndsu.edu
FSMA Produce Rule, FSMA Preventive Control Rule, HACCP

Holly Mawby
Dakota College at Bottineau
701-681-0252
hollyrose.mawby@dakotacollege.edu
FSMA Produce Rule, GAPs,Other, Farm Food Safety, Good Post Harvest Handling Practices
http://www.dakotacollege.edu/about/ech/
https://www.facebook.com/ndveggies/

 

South Dakota

http://igrow.org/healthy-families/food-safety/

Rhoda Burrows
South Dakota State University
605-394-2236
rhoda.burrows@sdstate.edu
FSMA Produce Rule, GAPs

Jason Schoch
South Dakota State University
605-455-1299
jason.schoch@sdstate.edu

Patrisha Hammond
Pine Ridge Ag Economy Initiative
patrisha_h@yahoo.com

 

Wisconsin

http://foodsafety.wisc.edu/

Erin Silva
University of Wisconsin
608-890-1503
emsilva@wisc.edu
FMSA Produce Rule, Other, good food safety practices but not necessarily specific audit programs

Barb Ingham
University of Wisconsin
608-263-7383
bhingham@wisc.edu

Annake Ramsey
Organic Valley Coop
888-444-6455
annake.ramsey@organicvalley.coop